Roche Annual General Meeting 2014

Posted: 4 March 2014 | | No comments yet

Roche announced that its Ordinary Annual General Meeting has voted in favour of all of the Board of Directors’ proposals…

Roche logo

Roche (SIX: RO, ROG; OTCQX: RHHBY) announced today that its Ordinary Annual General Meeting has voted in favour of all of the Board of Directors’ proposals. The 815 shareholders in attendance, representing 87.4% of the total of 160,000,000 shares, approved the Annual Report, the Financial Statements and the Consolidated Financial Statements for 2013, as well as the Remuneration Report 2013.

Christoph Franz was elected as the new Chairman of the Board of Directors, with 99.8% of the vote. He has been a member of the Roche Board since 2011.

Roche Chairman Dr Christoph Franz: “I would like to thank the shareholders for their confidence in me. Roche is a great company and I look forward to my role as Chairman of the Board of Directors.” And further: “In particular, I wish to extend my gratitude to Franz Humer who has made essential contributions to Roche’s successful development during the past 19 years. Under his leadership Roche has become a global leader in pharmaceuticals and diagnostics.”

Dr Franz B. Humer, outgoing Chairman of Roche: „The company is very well positioned for the future. I am convinced that Christoph Franz as the new Chairman will continue Roche’s success story together with the Board and the Executive Committee.”

Shareholders also authorised a 6% increase in the gross dividend for the past financial year to 7.80 Swiss francs per share and non-voting equity. This is the 27th consecutive increase.

In addition, the AGM approved the Board of Directors’ proposal to amend the Articles of Incorporation so as to implement Switzerland’s constitutional provisions on corporate governance (“Minder-Initiative”) one year earlier than required.

Shareholders approved the total amount of the bonuses paid to the Corporate Executive Committee for 2013 by a(n) 99.9% majority of the votes represented, and the total amount of the bonus paid to the Chairman of the Board of Directors for 2013 by a(n) 99.0% majority of the votes represented. They also approved the future remuneration for the Board of Directors and Corporate Executive Committee until the 2015 Ordinary Annual General Meeting by 99.5% and 99.6% majorities of the votes represented respectively.

Next to the election of Dr Christoph Franz, all other Board members were re-elected for a term of one year:

  • André Hoffmann
  • Prof. Dr Pius Baschera
  • Prof. Sir John Bell
  • Paul Bulcke
  • Dame DeAnne Julius
  • Dr Arthur D. Levinson
  • Dr Andreas Oeri
  • Dr Severin Schwan
  • Peter R. Voser
  • Prof. Dr Beatrice Weder di Mauro

The following Board Members were elected as members of the Remuneration Committee:

  • Dr Christoph Franz
  • André Hoffmann
  • Dr Arthur D. Levinson
  • Peter R. Voser

KPMG AG was elected as external auditor and BDO AG was elected as independent voting proxy for the first time by the AGM until the next regular AGM 2015.

Related organisations

Related people